HOST Families Open Hearts and Homes

matthews-house-logo

“For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.” ~ Matthew 25: 35-36

Jesus encouraged his followers to do something to help those facing the tough issues of poverty, homelessness, illness, and incarceration. When a crisis strikes, many of us rely on relatives and friends for support. For some families, however, poverty and social isolation mean that they have no support when they need it most.

The Matthews House HOST Program provides a temporary home for children, youth, and families who are in a crisis situation, through volunteer HOST families. It offers families an opportunity to open their hearts and homes to children and youth in crisis in our community while filling the gap to care for those in need.

The HOST program screens, trains, and supports HOST families through the entire process. Volunteers have the opportunity to host children and families of various ages from early childhood and school age to young or transitioning teens including pregnant or parenting teens to even families seeking emergency housing. While retaining custody of their children, parents facing a temporary crisis can arrange for their children to stay with a trustworthy family while they address the issues that led to their specific situation. Other avenues of support include meals, supplies, and financial gifts.

For more information on the HOST Program or how to become a volunteer HOST family, please contact Tiffany Cherry at tiffany@thematthewshouse.org. Or watch a video at https://vimeo.com/74256664 to meet a HOST family and the young man who lives with them.

Leave a Reply

